Access roads to Teide from the north have been reopened but with restrictions in place

  • Tenerife Cabildo
  • 19-09-2023
  • Tenerife
  • Photo Credit: Efe
Access roads to Teide from the north have been reopened but with restrictions in place

The Tenerife Cabildo has announced this morning (Tuesday) that the access roads to Teide National Park from La Esperanza (TF-24) and La Orotava (TF-21), as well as the Los Loros Ascent (TF-523), which had remained closed since the mid-August forest fire, have been reopened to public traffic.

Limitations have been imposed on the sections affected by the fire to ensure people's safety, as stated by the president of the Cabildo, Rosa Dávila, and the Councillor for Roads, Dámaso Arteaga.

In the restricted sections, stopping and parking are prohibited, the maximum speed limit is set at 50 kilometres per hour, and two-wheeled vehicles (scooters, motorcycles and bicycles) and those exceeding twelve metres in length are not allowed.

Dávila explained that despite cleaning and signalling efforts, there remains a risk because the guardrails and crash barriers have not yet been re-installed following the fire, hence the restrictions.

As the guardrails arrive on the island, they will be installed, and it is expected that all restrictions will be lifted by the end of December.


- The measures on TF-24 (La Esperanza) apply from Cruce de Machado (La Esperanza sanatorium) to Izaña (between kilometres 9 and 37.5).

- On the TF-21 Road (La Orotava), the measures apply from the access to La Caldera to El Portillo Bajo (between kilometres 16 and 33).

In addition to these road limitations, the ban on travelling in the fire-affected zones in the municipalities of Fasnia, Güímar, Arafo, Candelaria, El Rosario, Tacoronte, El Sauzal, La Matanza de Acentejo, La Victoria de Acentejo, Santa Úrsula, La Orotava, and Los Realejos remains in place.

Outdoor fires (bonfires, stoves, barbecues, gas cookers) and firework displays are prohibited in the area within the Corona Forestal Natural Park of the municipalities affected by the fire.

In other areas of the municipalities affected by the fire, the use of machinery and tools is allowed, but with caution. Hunting is also allowed.

The following recreational areas and camping zones remain closed: Chanajiga (Los Realejos), Hoya del Abade (La Victoria), La Caldera (La Orotava), La Laguneta Chica (Santa Úrsula), Las Calderetas (El Sauzal), Las Raíces (El Rosario), Lomo La Jara (Tacoronte), Los Frailes (Arafo), and Ramón El Caminero (La Orotava).