The Tenerife Cabildo proposes to improve the coastal tourist areas of eight municipalities

2020/09/16 16:21:00 Written by Canarian Weekly Tenerife

The Tenerife Cabildo, through the Territorial Planning, Historical Heritage and the Department of Tourism , has presented a project to improve the coastal areas of eight municipalities of Tenerife, based on tourism sustainability in the municipalities of Garachico, La Guancha, La Laguna, El Rosario, Güímar, Fasnia, Arico and San Miguel de Abona.

These actions, which have been proposed within the framework of the Tourism Sustainability Plan Program, approved by the Tourism Sector Commission at its meeting on June 25th, have a budget of 2,082,000 euros in three payments when the project is finally approved.

The insular councillor, José Gregorio Martín Plata, stressed that "the actions provided for in the plan focus on improving access to the sea through different types of works, such as access to the sea and high tide natural pools, coastal paths and walks, restoration and equipment, maintenance and conservation."

The tourism sustainability plan in underdeveloped coastal areas aims to curb trends, uses, and actions, that negatively affect the Tenerife coastline, to reduce marine pollution; to constitute an instrument of sensitization for a culture about sustainability in said coastal strip that results in an effective restoration and conservation of the landscape; create an experience of participation and consultation with public and private businesses in the area, promoting the circular economy; serve as a conceptual and practical example of the integral management of the coastline and its tourist use, and ultimately propose the need of maritime spatial planning.

The Tourism Sustainability Plan Program, made up of two lines of action, for pioneer destinations, and rural or inland destinations, is endowed with an annual item included in the budget of the Secretary of State for Tourism (Setur), to be executed through annual plans, the beneficiaries of which will be local entities receiving capital transfers.

Proposals for plans presented by local entities will be evaluated by the autonomous community in question and Setur, according to the established selection criteria, before their final approval by the Tourism Sector Commission and their ratification at the Tourism Sector Conference, whose announcement is planned for the end of September.

The projects that are approved in the aforementioned program will receive the economic transfer to apply them, articulating three-way agreements with a duration of three years. The cooperation and financing instrument for each approved tourism sustainability plan will be an agreement between the three participating territorial administrations, each of which will finance, in general, a third of the actions with the local entity being the executing agency.