Germany excludes the Canary Islands from its non-essential travel list

2020/07/28 16:55:29 Written by Canarian Weekly National

The German Ministry of Foreign Affairs has issued a new recommendation that discourages non-essential travel to the Spanish regions of Aragon, Catalonia and Navarra due to the increase in coronavirus infections in recent times, but excludes the Canary Islands giving German tourists the freedom to holiday here.

"Non-essential trips to the autonomous communities of Aragon, Catalonia and Navarra are not currently recommended due to the high number of infections and local barriers," stated the department led by Heiko Maas, in its latest update on travel recommendations regarding Spain, published this morning.

In relation to Catalonia, the German Ministry said that the Catalan Government has issued recommendations not to leave home in various areas, and also that meetings should not be more than ten people, in addition to a ban on holding cultural and sports events, and nightlife activities.

Regarding Aragon, he indicated that the Aragonese Government has imposed restrictions for restaurants, shops, swimming pools, sports facilities, and cultural centres in the area since July 24th. "The health authorities of the autonomous community of Aragon recommend that you do not leave Zaragoza, or travel to Zaragoza," he adds.

In addition, the German diplomat reminded that in the Balearic Islands, the authorities have ordered the closure of bars and shops in the Palma de Mallorca beach area until September 15th.

Germany's recommendation to avoid travel to Catalonia, Aragon and Navarra comes after the UK Government has advised against nonessential travel to Spain, and has decided to impose a 14 day quarantine period on all travellers arriving from Spanish territory. Last Friday, France also advised its citizens not to travel to Catalonia.

The recommendation not to make non-essential trips issued by the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs affects Catalonia, due to the situation in Barcelona and on the Costa Brava, as well as Aragon and Navarra.

The German Ministry of Foreign Affairs has excluded the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands from its recommendation. The department headed by Heiko Maas has made the decision to update its recommendations regarding Spain due to "high infection rates".